Mockingjay Book Review!

Heya guys! So here is the last book review for the Hunger Games series!! :)

Mockingjay

Summary:

Katniss Everdeen, the “girl on fire”, has survived, even though her home, District 12 has been destroyed. Gale has escaped to District 13. Katniss’ family is safe. Peeta has been captured and tortured by the Capitol. District 13 does exist. There are rebels and there are leaders. A rebellion is unfolding and war is on the brink.

“It is by design that Katniss was rescued from the arena in the cruel and haunting Quarter Quell, and it is by design that she has long been part of the revolution without knowing it. District 13 has come out of the shadows and is plotting to overthrow the Capitol. Everyone, it seems, has had a hand in the carefully laid plans — except Katniss.”

“The success of the rebellion hinges on Katniss’ willingness to be a pawn, to accept responsibility for countless lives, and to change the course of the future of Panem. To do this, she must put aside her feelings of anger and distrust. She must become the rebels’ Mockingjay — no matter what the personal cost.” She also has a plan to kill President Snow, but when it comes to the point where it’s all up to her, she remembers what President Snow said in The Hunger Games, “I thought we agreed we weren’t going to lie,” she says, “that’s right, we did,” and she aims a little above President Snow’s head, and shoots President Coin.

 

Review:

Let me get this straight, I loved this book but I think the second one, Catching Fire, was better, don’t you guys think? Well I mean, of course it was fantastic but you know comparing it to the second one, it didn’t really have that much ‘boom’ inside me. But it was great. It was totally great. With all the plot twists and everything. And of course, this wouldn’t be part in the Hunger Games series without violence. ;) Hihihihi. But the one thing I totally hated about this book was the ending. I oh so hated how Suzanne Collins ended this book. I mean, yeah sure, you know (didn’t want to spoil anything to those who haven’t read the book). But I was looking for more details about ___________. The details of the ending totally lacked for me. Just like when Gale ____ and when Prim ___ and Katniss’s mother ____ and Katniss _____ and Peeta ____. Oh come on. You know it would have been better if she added more details. And sorry if I left a lot of blanks, didn’t want to spoil anything. But of course, the violence of this book was just unexplainable. No words can describe how much gore was put into the making of this book. But you know, I was so disappointed on what happened to Peeta. I was literally crying my eyeballs out when I knew what happened to him. I just can’t even imagine how Katniss might have felt that time learning that Peeta was ______. Ugh no, just no. Okay. I am trying my oh so best not to spoil so I’ll end it here. In short, I think it was great but it didn’t surpass my expectations for this book. Maybe because, the second was just beautiful that I expected too much out of this.

And a rating of mine: 4 out of 5 :)

Leave a Reply

